RSS Feed

In Absentia

Posted on

We have been absent from our site for one very amazing reason.

AUGUST

After 21 hours of labor and a quick dash to the hospital, my amazing wife bypassed all paperwork, walked into an unusually empty maternity ward at around 3:45am, and had a full staff of nurses at her disposal.

By the time they got her into bed, she was already fully dilated and her water broke. The staff at the hospital sprang into action… 4 nurses and one awesome Doctor Rodriguez  made quick work of transforming the labor room into a delivery room in less than 2 minutes.

With her mother rubbing her arm, and her fabulous doula reassuringly holding her hand, one contraction and two pushes was all it took for little August to make his appearance in the world!

No matter how many times I bear witness, it never ceases to be a miracle before my eyes.

Born on 04/02 at 4:02am. 8lbs, 2oz and 19.75 inches long… and we’re done!

For the past month and a half, we’ve been adjusting to life with another small person added to the mix. It has been amazing as much as it has been exhausting. Hopefully, regular updates will return. Thanks for visiting! 😀

About Riis

Me? I’m just an easy-going guy. My friends call me Riis. But I’m also known as Myxl Dove in some music & literary circles. I’m a musician, a poet, a writer, a singer and a performer. But what I am most proud of is being a proud father and joyful husband!

One response »

  1. Hi! I’m checking out all my friends’ blogs & following them. I hope you’ll consider doing the same. lybertypaytriot.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a comment